Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-01-15 - 11:57 a.m.

I just want to talk about the stuff at the neurolux last night, that's all.

I talked to Steve for the first time in long time. He was his same person. Awkward but so genuinely kind. I am glad there is no resentment anywhere betwixt us.

Mom and Lindsey came out for the show. Oh, my sister and her burgeoning belly break my heart. I want to hug her unborn child. Speaking of: Brian Mayer told this really weird anecdote about this 80 year old man who reprimanded some friend's of Brian's for having sex while the female was with child. The problem with this, according to the 80 year old man, is that the ejaculated sperm touches the lips of the fetus, and from then on the child will have "an unquenchable thirst for semen." What? Such a crazy interaction.

I met a lot of new nice people. But are they really nice, is the question. The problem with first impressions at bars is one that everybody is nice while drunk. But they could be real jerks when sober. A stranger girl approached me while I was seated near the CD stand. My first instinct was to let her know that she had real nice hair, and her expression softened, and she started talking. She asked me where I worked, and I told her. When I didn't ask her the same question she told me that she had a really shameful job, and did I want to know what it is?

Me: "Not if you don't want to tell me."

Her(Jessica is her name.): "I'm a dancer! I mean, don't judge me. I've gone to veterinary school, i'm smart! I just need money, RIGHT NOW. It's not too bad."

Me: " Ok. I'm not judging you."

Jessica: "The girls are so catty there! Can I have your number? I need some non-stripper friends!"

Me: "Ok, I like animals too. We can be friends."

I give her my number, and she tells me that we can walk dogs together.

Later, I heard her yelling at the man she was with that she would 'kill him silly.' Regardless, I feel like she's feeling seriously bad about her current career. She's new to the area, and probably needs somebody to talk to, so if she called, I would walk some dogs with her.

I wasn't nervous to play at all, despite the size of the crowd and the fact that i've never played on a stage, EVER. I was actually really pumped. Before hand, a lot of people told me that they really enjoyed the singing that I did on Jeremy's album, so I think that helped. We played so well. REally well. I've always refused to sing into a microphone until tonight. Whoa! What a difference. Microphones have always seemed so "Look at me!" you know? But i've decided that I like them. If I didn't have to play the keyboard, I probably would have taken the mic off the jigger and gotten sassy. That's how good it felt.

OH, and BJ. OH, BJ. He approached me after the show to proposition me. He wants a female singer for his 'one man band'. I couldn't say "no" outright, but I told him we could try. He admires my "enthusiasm", but also my "moodiness" and wants a "volatile" person like myself to collaborate with musically. Oh, BJ. I have always had this affection for a drugged up BJ. Not one that I show outwardly, but I keep it in a little sigh in my soul whenever i'm near him. He is a sad person, and feels like it's his lot in life to be a sad person. A 'dark dolphin' as Steve Sh. would say. He's always struggling with awful addictions, and I feel a maternal clucking in my heart for him. He is I know, a good person. He is a talented person, and could be a happy person as well.

Nathan from the Slaves played such nice music. This boy has got such STYLE. Serious style. I've had a crush on him since first I saw him. He has got a girlfriend, who I also have a crush on. A platonic crush. She's really beautiful and interesting, as is he.

Same with Blake, his band member, now that I think on it. I've always had a crush on this Blake. Ever since he sang the song about 'having sex with Rachael' before our acquaintance had ever been made. Of course, I imagined he was singing it towards me. He also has a beautifully talented and interesting girlfriend who I wish to get to know in a more intimate way, platonically. I have crushes on both of these relationships. Good matches, each of them. A concentration of creativity, style, and talent.

I peed so much the whole evening, and I didn't feel like I had drank much! A bottle of iced tea, some coffee, a package of bubble gum that tasted like fruit punch.

You Might Die was surprisingly hot. I really enjoyed their set. Stephanie threw a bra on the stage, and people thought that it had come from me, because I was standing beside her, and the bra was too small to have been hers. What they didn't know, was that it was neither of ours! Stephanie had found it outside the YMCA on her way there.

Just a real nice evening, all around. Lots of love, lots of confidence. Lots of connecting. Nights like this make me feel like I could be happy in Boise

You know what else breaks my heart? When strangers say hello, or when people care to remember a person's name. Audible sighs of softness these lips will emit. Thank you people, for being good ones.

This coke with lime is a tasty kind. It tastes like pepsi twist.

I will kill you silly.