Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-12 - 6:59 p.m.

This is getting out of hand. My mother, she says everything that she intends to do, out loud before she does it. Just now:

Mom:"I think i'll call Lydia."

Rachael:"Then just DO IT!"

Our days are full of these interactions. She says or does something that irrationally annoys me, then I say something rude, and smooth it over once I realize how awful it sounded:

Like, "yeah, really. You should call her. She'd probably like to hear from you." and then I simmer down until she does something else that aggravates me. Ah! It's like we're two beasts circling one another, ready to lunge. She with her eye, and me with my snarky tongue.

I think i'm going to move sooner than I had intially intended. Oh, I am so filled with good full anxiety about this move! I hear about events that are taking place in Portland, and I think "Is it true that this will really be my town?" The truth is, however, that everything is much grander in my mind than it ever turns out to be. I'm afraid that Portland might not measure up to the lofty standards i've placed on her. It's like the job you might dream of, only to get it, and realize once the shimmer glam's gone, it is nothing more than work. The good news being though, that i am a girl who's easy to please, quite. While one might think that my grandiose visions only set myself up for dissapointment, I rarely find this to be the case. I settle into my lot pretty well, and find myself content with what i'm handed for the most part. I'm just one big shoulder shrug sometimes, I suppose.

I watched American Splendor last night. Veal Chop playing a grumbly ass man. Who knew!

I am Fortune's foe, don't argue with me on this one.