Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-15 - 12:16 a.m.

My Valentine's evening was occupied by embroidering quaint scenes on handkerchiefs for my Elijah's birthday, (which is tomorrow). My favorite was a deep green number, with two owl appliques in opposite corners. The top owl is a man owl, and he has a speech bubble saying "Yo, Tina." The owl at the bottom is looking straight at you, and she has a thought bubble with a big heart and an exclamation point. This is 'Owl Mating.' She is Tina.

I'm thinking of past Valentine celebrations. Last year, Jaman and I had just broken up, (oh no, that means it has been a year! shim.)and I spent the evening in a state of musing mopishness. Feeling sorry for myself. Not because it was Valentine's day and I didn't have anyone to kiss on the face, but because I was feeling like I had sabotaged something that still had plenty of potential.

But the Valentine's of 2002 was sweet. Very sweet. I was so bound and determined to make Jaman a cake. His v. favorite was a good German chocolate. So, i bought a bar of German chocolate and melted it down, I mean so completely from scratch this was going to be! Oh, I had visions of grand cakes in mind, but turns out what I'm capable of making is a mound and a heap of cake crumbles smeared with sticky, chunky paste. But can I just say to my credit, that it tasted amazing? I think that I just put the frosting on too quickly, before it had cooled completely. Oh, and I went on a Fred Meyers shopping spree for my Valentine. To show him that I knew his 'favorites'. That burt's bees 'milk and honey' lotion he liked, those weird rochet foiled toffee candy things he was so crazy about, those effing milano cookies, some of that dirty hippi patchouli he would wear on the zipper of his jeans for some unknown reason, the bobby pins he was always stealing from me. Of course he adored my gift. Who wouldn't?

This boy, was so unromantic it was almost frustrating. Always so grounded in reality. But, for this occasion, he wrote me a very lovely and very romantic letter. Which I still have somewhere. At what point does it ever feel ok to get rid of things like this? I am a sentimental sack. Could I ever throw out all my letters and keepsakes from past relationships? Probably only, if it had ended in intense bitterness.

Here's Hoping!