Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-16 - 7:15 p.m.

While Color has always been an important thing, i've noticed that yesterday, and today, it has been consuming.

So very many episodes of the Simpson's third season were watched last night. Of course, they were hilarious as ever, but I found myself so wound up in the colors that I was distracted. I exclaimed to my fellow watchers that: "Oh, I love Milhouse! he is wearing such amazing colors!" and that is when my fixation become a conscious issue. Jason's bright yellow shirt that I hadn't been able to take my eyes off of. His hot pink plastic bracelet. My own pink shoes which kept stealing my attentions away from more pressing matters, such as walking at pace with the rest of my company. The pipes at the Kulture dude became distracting during lunch when the bold primary-colored plant-life painted on them seemed to be mildly pulsating.

Today was rainy. When I stepped out of the house near sun down, it felt like I was underwater. Everything was awash in a grey blue- everything. It was like a sea and I was floating in it, so otherwordly and beautiful. I drove, and when stopped at a light, I stared fixedly at sky which is cadet blue interrupted only by black silhouettes of birds in formation, and felt so sharply stirred by the contrast of the red, then green light which seemed vibrant enough to bore holes through my eyes.

While I could become swept up in the romanticism of these two days, and interpret it as an awakening of some new, passionate sense, the nagging mother who is Reason leads me back to the question of my contact lenses as the culprit.

I dropped my right down the drain, and in my lens-strapped state resorted to using two lefts in my eyes, which are cursed with a stigmatism. So, it is the case that while one eye is seeing perfectly well, the other is straining and adjusting to a different prescription, throwing off my equilibrium and causing me eyeball issues in general.

But, Methinks this might be a lovely way to spend the rest of my days. "Optometrist, two lefts please? Thank you kindly. By the way, that's a wicked-vibrant lab coat you've got on, there!"

Much sweeter than hallucinogenics