Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-03-18 - 8:29 p.m.

I just read, that my plastic tub of pre-marinated tofu, along with 2 cups of vegetables, is meant to serve 2. It is the case, that I just polished off the lot, promptly followed by a peanut butter smeared apple, and more than a handful of saltines with peach jam. And I have not even yet felt the high ride.

Why, oh why, was I born this way?

I went to story time at the library this morning. The man conducting was such John Cusack in Being John Malcovich. Puppets, presence, everything! That is another movie on my list of things that need bought. VHS, obviously.

Will I ever upgrade to those DVD's? Will I ever be concerned with fancy technology? I show no signs, yet. In a computer, I am happy with a piece that allows me to check my e-mail, maybe write a document in Word. I still take pictures on my Pentax K1000 circa 1989, and have really no desire to replace my cheap old keyboard, with a weighted key version. I still play Tetris on my original Nintendo, still play Tetris on my ancient Gameboy, have no achings to play anything but Tetris, really! At the time of it's conception, I shunned the popularity of the roller blade, and stood by my skate. It was only due to my mother's insistence, that I ever acquiesced on the matter of the celluar phone. Today, I set out to watch some television, but I couldn't figure out that lame ass remote, for that digital satellite thing! I ended up walking away in near tears, after failed attempts at calling my 'tv savvy' young brother at a friend's house, mourning the death of the basic cable of my childhood. My comfort seems to lie in a technology that is a good 5-10 years behind the cut edge.

I worry about this sometimes. I worry that sometimes I am too content with what is sub-par, though what I have never feels sup-par really, it just feels like what I have?

but what if technology is some extreme party that i've un-invited myself to?