Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-03-20 - 6:26 p.m.

They have opened up a glamorous little yarn shop in my town, just as I am getting ready to up and leave! It is called Drop A Stitch, and my knees, they become weak upon entry. Such beautiful lush skeins, little mushrooms of silk, hand painted strands, fuzz toadstools, some as thick and variegated as a child's jump rope, coiled like lassoes. I bought no yarn, but I did make the guiltiest purchase of a 17.00 magazine. I could no help myself, I have been looking for this periodical all the hell over for over a year! It is a rarity around these parts, imported from Germany (translations found on inserted booklet), carrying the title of 'Rebecca'! Can you believe it? NO more kabitzing to the geriatrics at my former yarn supplier 'Knit Wits'to order it from their supplier. My eternal quest for this digest is over!

I tried to befriend the lady owner, chatting her up. I wanted to ask her if it might be alright if I could knit on the couch by her sunny store front window, or if I could ask her for help with a knitting pattern, if I ever needed it? But she was pretty cold, I believe that she thought herself a Hot Shot.

My thrift store needles feel unworthy, of this high fallutin' fiber.