Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-06 - 2:15 a.m.

My mom purchased a new mini-van this last January. I never really thought twice about it, but why in hell? I have feelings that it is some empty nest side-effect, some mid-life crisis in reverse. The whole family piled in it this evening, the first time that it has ever been near full capacity, and it was such a trip. Such a trip! I wanted to be a very young girl again. I wanted her to be taking me to a slumber party.

But we were actually driving to a showing of Eddie Murphy's 'Haunted Mansion'. My new favorite movie, is what I have been known to say this evening.

In the lobby before it started, I was looking at a poster, advertising a movie called 'The Girl Next Door'. I started chuckling, at the observation that the boy peering through the window wasn't ogling the lady sharing the poster with him like he was supposed to be doing, but appeared to be vacantly gazing into space. This chuckle quickly accelerated, when I glanced down at my pants, and noticed that they were horribly filthy, just dreadfully soiled! And I took my head in my hands as we strolled into the theatre, still laughing as I reflected on the fact that I have been doing absolutely nothing with my life for the last 2 months! When we finally settled in our seats, I was lauging so hard that I was silent in tears, and just thinking:

"What the hell is my life! What is this that i'm living? What?" I choked out the words "My pants are so dirty..." in Elijah's direction, and he laughed and said "What? Rachael! Watch the movie!"

And so I shed a few more lauging gas tears, bit my own shoulder, and finally mustered the composure to watch the film. Which was excellent, by the way.

My new favorite movie.