Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-28 - 12:01 a.m.

Today I met a different Grandma Carlene. She has always been preoccupied with my financial doings. Always proposing that I hand my pay check off to her, and she will make me a budget, allotting me funds when I needed them. She is obsessed with savings, and brings them up nearly everytime that I see her.

She wanted to discuss my funds this evening. When I seemed less than pleased about this, she became cagey. My sweet grandmother. I sat at the table, not able to look at her, while she unleashed this mile long lecture. When I protested, and told her that I am well aware of my shortcomings in the budgeting department, and that it doesn't help me when she is constantly bringing it to the forefront, she snapped. She told me that I was ungrateful, and that I needed to learn from my elders. She told me that I was stupid for not listening to her, and that I wasn't trying. She told me that my life would be hell if I didn't save. She weilded a rolled up newspaper at one point, across the table from me. Her eyes were wild, and she was yelling. It's like I never even knew her, now. I never once thought that her meek disposition was capable of storms like this. It was so unfamiliar, that I immediately felt nauseous. My mom came home in the middle of her rants, and I took the opportunity to dismiss myself. I sat cross legged on the floor of the den, and covered myself with the tent of my quilt, and prepared to call Elijah. She came after me, and said: "Are you hiding?" and she tore the quilt off of me, and demanded: "Hug me like you mean it."

So I hugged her and apologized for my difficulties. She said nothing and left.

Really, my world has been rocked by this. My grandmother has never behaved in these ways, EVER. It's like she went crazy. I don't know where to go from here.

It's like a weird nightmare.