Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-08-22 - 12:25 a.m.

It rained today, finally feeling like Portland. I walked to Office Depot, where I asked the boy which sorts of pens were bleedy, to which he didn't know. Walking out, my bones knew before my brains did, that these clouds were wet. Which is a wonderful thing when you are eating avocado on a bagel outside of the Sheridan fruit market, while your office products are getting pneumonia in the downpour. It was a good day, as far as recent days have gone.

I am making a scrapped book. It's going well, thus far.

Today was Lily's third birthday. Our phone call:

"Lily?"

"Tell me happy birthday."

"Happy birthday! I love you."

"Thank you."

It was a Barbie themed birthday party, and it is for many reasons that I dislike the Barbie doll, but I would not say this to Lily. I'll save it for my own rats, should I ever reproduce.

Rachel called me today, to tell me the story of a couple in our Boise who were recently wed in the Garden Center of their local Wal-Mart. A quote from the woman stated that she never even thought about holding their wedding anywhere else, as she and her then boyfriend frequented that WalMart location every damned day since it's conception. And what would they do there, every gd day? Hang out at the deli, or something. Who gave the woman away at the ceremony? "Her friends and family at Wal-Mart, do." A sad comment in the guest book of American culture, but I would have paid dear money to have attended that ceremony.

Night before last was Old Time karaoke, prefacing the Parenthetical Girls Launch Pad. Many wonderful numbers: Zac Pennington sang an a capella Moon River, Noah Mickens crooned a Stardust that would have been even lovelier had we been in the same time zone, Sam Mickens quivered a down-tempo Dixie, Adam Forkner scat a Tennessee Waltz or something, some guy Snax spoke the Battle Hymn of the Republic. It was nice. I can't think of any reasons that the P-girls won't get positive feedback all over. Especially with that dress of Rebecca's in tow. But seriously folks, it's nice.

Swiss minx