Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-09-21 - 4:14 p.m.

I realized while talking to Rebecca about zines and the way that I have kept them out of my life, that in many senses I reject the feeling of community.

I can't think of any instances where I have wholly accepted any sort of community. I guess that all of it makes me uncomfortable.

This thing is sort of an attempt at community, right? But then I fall short at the point of reading other people's journals, which I don't do regularly. It's more of a self-indulgent thing. Does this make me a smegging goit? I guess. Hell.

I'm not an unreasonably rebellious person, but I just want to be me alone.

I mean, I want to understand and be understood, but the feeling of a universal understanding amongst a sub-genre of people rubs me wrong. Also, I know very little about zine culture, and I have gathered I'm sure, a very ignorant perspective. Let it be known.

I said: "It's not that I don't like community, I do, I like little circuits...like family and stuff."

Then Rebecca exclaimed that I only like my family! Which is true in it's own right. I mean, come on. They are stand-up people who have never done me anything but right.

But listen, then she suggested that all of the people who I love, which there are quite a few, I should christen with a Jensen title. This could be my community.

So if I call you little ________ Jensen, you will know you are held in my tenderest regards.

I never read zines, and I turned out fine.