Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2005-02-27 - 6:44 p.m.

I decided that I would wash my car today, because I have never washed this car. It has been almost two years without washing. I have always favored the do it yourself stall car wash with the foaming brushes and spray nozzle. I found one that suited me, but the change machine was on the fritz. So, I went searching for a venue in which to make my dollars into quarters. I won't tell you all the hell, but I will say there were six unsuccessful stops (including a laundromat, what kind of laundromat has no coin changer?) in my quest to make quarters. The sixth stop found me sobbing and cursing in front of a convenience store on MLK, and I want to thank, and apologize, to the two very young boys who had witnessed the scene inside the store and stopped to console me, the hysterically weeping stranger.
"Have you tried the Safeway? I'm sure they'll give you quarters, lady."
Me, addressing them through tears:
"Do you know this for sure? I don't want to go unless I know for sure."
"Oh yeah, I'm pretty sure. Are you going to be OK?"
Pathetic. I AM PATHETIC. But the boys were right about the Safeway.
Then, Rebecca and I ate little sandwiches that were grilled in the shape of fish, plus I had some spumoni ice cream and an Abba Zabba.
Then, I did my laundry!

Sunday is wash day.