Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2005-06-13 - 11:37 p.m.

Today I saw a mammoth grey vessel pass under the bridge, which breaks in half and lifts for these occasions.
The vessel was full on either side with sailors, who were posed like bath-toys with their legs planted firmly just past hip stance, and their arms holding each other together behind at the small of their backs. All along the shore of the river the people were waving, but the sailors wouldn't respond. I wanted to flip them off.
We talked about sailors a few minutes later, when I ran into a few co-workers. I made some disparaging remarks. I told them that they creeped me out- and demonstrated their stance once more in case they didn't get the picture clearly enough. This bothered them. So I said that to me they are a sort of vibrant gay-culture icon, and that I like to wear sailor inspired clothing. I was trying to say that I like sailors, in my way. I just don't like to see them looking like Hitler's youth. What do sailors even do? That's what I should have said to them.
The point is that I offended my co-workers. I think the girl almost cried, and she left work not an hour later. Her boyfriend at work said that she was very offended at what I said about sailors.
Then later, my landlord called me to tell me to clean my bedroom. I thought it out of line, considering he wasn't even going to be showing our house anytime soon. He just wanted to shame me, but all I had out was a box of fabric dumped on the floor. That's what I should have said. "It's just fabric, dick."
Steven and Willow and I saw "Lords of Dogtown", this evening. The evening before that, Willow and I saw "Mad Hot Ballroom".
Who wants to start a club where you crash parties? That's the club I want to found.

I've got to get my damn camera fixed.