Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2005-06-18 - 1:33 a.m.

"The following are symptoms of autism that i have noted in your behavior (as per wrongdiagnosis.com):
>Impaired social interaction <../../sym/social_problems.htm>
> Avoid eye contact <../../sym/social_problems.htm>
> Plays alone <../../sym/society_problems.htm>
> Unprovoked attacks on others <../../sym/aggression.htm>
> Inability to sustain conversation <../../sym/social_problems.htm>
> Unusual or severely limited activities and interests
> <../../sym/society_problems.htm>
> Overly focused attention on specific objects
> <../../sym/society_problems.htm>
Things are lining up, now:
> Reduced sensitivity to pain <../../sym/pain.htm>"

Phil at work is trying to diagnose me with autism.
I replied: "Is this really what you think?" and he gave me a break-down, and evidence to sustain his claims.
"An inability to sustain conversation? Really?" I said.
"Well, trying to have a conversation with you- it gets weird sometimes." said Phil.
The whole time they are talking, Rachael is shifting her gaze, so as to never make sustained eye contact with her co-worker. It's very funny.
"Tell me how I have a reduced sensitivity to pain. I don't buy that one." I said.
"15 minutes ago you were punching the wall like it was nothing to you. And that's just today, Rachael. You do that stuff all the time."
Very interesting,
He's justified in his observations, circumstantial they may be. I take note that he is more careful than I have credited him for.
What I take away from this experience, is not that I am autistic- though Rebecca made an entertaining suggestion:
"Rachael! Maybe that's why you like to wear a lot of clothes, because you need to feel hugged like autistic people who have machines to press on them to simulate humans!"
That is why Rebecca is #1.
Anyways, what I take away from this is not that I'm autistic, but that I act autistic at work.
People surprised me today.

Like when Chris got really antsy and danced, and then hid underneath his desk.