Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

November 21, 2005 - 4:16

Yesterday, a man on the bus told me to show him the contents of my thrift-store shopping bag.
I showed him first the porcelain animal grab-bag, then a tarnished and beautifully etched silver spoon.
He said: "Do you know what that is?" and I said, "It looks like somebody tried to fashion a spoon into a hook."
Very somberly, he said "NO. There's a lot of pain and misery behind that spoon."
So he says it's a drug spoon, bent to accomodate flame, but I'll use it as a hook. Maybe for a kitchen cloth, maybe for a scarf. I couldn't show him the shoes that I had bought, because it felt too relevatory.
I swear I just saw a leaf fall downward, and I'm on the 18th floor.

If there's a tree as tall as this building, I'm scared of it.