Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

December 06, 2005 - 12:33

If I could go back to high school, I wouldn't have quit orchestra for no better reason than to spite my teacher. It would really satisfy me now, as an a-dult, to play one instrument among many. Last year, with her cello, my mom joined an adult's orchestra for novice performers. I would do something like that. It was really cute to watch. I shouldn't say cute, but what else can you say.
When I think about it, my brief stint as a violin player was pretty charmed. I didn't really have to work at it to be successful (1st chair, 1st violin!), which is out of the ordinary for me. Same goes for my corresponding bout as a bass guitar player.
Wow, if I have ever been resented in my life, it's never been so obvious as the resentment I received from Matt McKee. He was the only other bass guitar player in the class, and had been taking lessons all summer, and practicing like mad. I had no intentions of playing the bass guitar at all, but when they were short on guitars, and heavy on piano players (what I originally intended to play), I volunteered to learn and picked it up quickly. I was better than Matt, I'm just going to say it. I was given all of the traveling bass line parts. For the record, I disliked playing the bass guitar.
There was a choir at the mall. I'm glad I was never in choir.

And then Santa Claus pointed at me, and said: "You're finally getting your pony this year."