Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

December 29, 2005 - 9:22

I want a real proper lesbian to fall in love with me. I want her to write an emotive, orchestral song about our failed relationship. I want her to have hair like Miranda July. I don't ask for a lot in my life.
Much more than songs inspired by books, I like the idea of a song being written in response to another song. Like, "Here's Suzanne, written from Suzanne's hypothetical POV." says Joan Baez. Obviously, more subtle than that. Picking up where another song's passing reference left off. What are some good examples of this? It probably happens unbeknownst, primarily.
I got some strange piano music from my mother, for the holidays. Some really baffling decisions made on her part. I think there was some Neil Diamond, "Amazing Grace" variations (honestly?), other weird stuff. "Somewhere over the Rainbow" has some potential, I guess. I wondered if maybe they were sale binned at Dorsey, but Noah was with her at time of purchase, and said that her decisions were based purely on misguided instinct.

God love, and keep her.