Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

February 16, 2006 - 11:53

Sometimes I think that one of my wisdom teeth is surfacing, when really it isn't, but I think this time might be the "real deal". It's like my gum is contracting and dilating. Gum, this baby could be still-born, and the cord might never be cut.
Yesterday I got Valentine's from home. Lily drew me a picture of a 'banana drink', which is a cup filled with the color yellow. Kodee drew me a picture of a monkey, underneath written "Love Monkey". Mom gave me a heart shaped box of chocolate. Lindsey got me gloss that makes my lips look like hers. It was expensive, and I think about how she mopped someone's floor to get it.
Sometimes I can't believe how much they love me when they don't even know what I'll become. I wonder what my mom thinks I'll do with my life. I wonder if she throws her hands up in the air about it.
I was in a good mood yesterday. Still am.
I hope to go to Alabama in May for a rural studio's tour/bonfire party these architecture students do every year. My uncle Bruce conducts the projects. I'm aflutter at the prospect of going to a Southern state, something I've never done before. He lives in a clearing in the woods, on a pond, and I think it will be beautiful.
You know, sometimes I wish that what I wanted to do was grow up and live like Bruce and Aunt Marilee. It seems like a pretty clean path for the willing. What is the name for it, like a yuppie, but I couldn't say that. Childless, reclusive, still really into each other's company, and their gadgets, productive individuals, unintentionally but inherently snob-based. Marilee doesn't work, but paints and gardens, fiddles with installations, swims daily, mothers cats. Doesn't age. I mean, that sounds like one comfortable life, esp. if that's what you were going for.

Days of leisure.