Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

March 14, 2006 - 2:42

The shoeshine man downstairs offered to shine my shoes free of charge, but I couldn't accept. Like a baby. Now, I wonder if my shoes are noticeably scuffed. Yes, probably.
If I see an attractive person, I try very hard not to look at them. Today, I realized that I do this with an air of accommodation. Like I am doing attractive people a favor, by not contributing to the swarms of gazes they take in throughout a typical day.
Or I guess it is a respect issue, in the same way I wouldn't look at the man with the rotting nose at Rite Aid yesterday. (It was totally decayed, but still festering. I could have seen into his face had I tried.) But that's not really the same, is it? I mean, what if nobody ever looks at him?

I guess if I were more socially graceful, I would have looked into his eyes.