Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

March 15, 2006 - 9:17

At 2:44 this morning (I know, because the time is projected on my ceiling), I was woken up by my apartment's door buzzer. My reaction to this wasn't irritation, but strangely glee, like somebody I had been waiting for had finally arrived. I literally bounded from my bed to answer the door, haphazardly clutching bed clothes to cover myself. I was smiling and pleased. I have no idea what I thought this was all about.
When I opened the door, the man at the front entrance was not anybody I was expecting. In my state, I thought he was a character like Jeff on the League of Gentlemen. Balding, desperate, wearing a flannel jacket, and no joke, a garbage bag slung over his shoulder. We looked at each other for a second through the pane of glass on the front entrance. My hand was poised to turn the knob and let him in, but I didn't, even though he reminded me of Jeff. Addled, sort of scared, I wandered back to my apartment and locked myself in.

This morning I thought that maybe it was a dream, but as I was leaving, I noticed the black and white sash that I had fallen asleep with in hand, was spread on the floor in front of my door.