Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

June 02, 2006 - 10:49

I just ate a bit of Chai doughnut from Starbucks the coffee shop, and it was really really good.
Anyways, with that banality out of the way. Here's more, I guess.
I've recently been watching a good part of the series "Freaks and Geeks" for the first time, via Netflix and 1 hiccupy download on a dated Macintosh. God, it's so good. I legitimately love all of those characters, except maybe Nick? I mean, I like him, but it's not love. Last night I teared up upon seeing Bill weeping in the car, at the Go Cart track. It's still genuinely painful to think about. Which reminds me of a piece of personal news: I've been regaining my empathy, which is nice. It went on holiday for a bit after I was told that I don't have empathy for other people, and I believed it.
I've been feeling this week like my Dad is going to die, though it doesn't register as anything but a lurking dread. Yesterday I was recalling our last conversation. He had called to talk to me all weepy, and choking up. He wanted to tell me that he had just finished watching Fiddler on the Roof, and the song "sunrise, sunset" made him miss me. I assume because of the lines that go something like "Is this the little girl I carried. Wasn't it yesterday they were small. What words of wisdom can I give them. etc." Ignites paternal sparks. It's funny that he thinks of me when he watched Fiddler on the Roof, because I think of him when I watch it too. Maybe we watched it together once when I was little, but it's probably because he looks a bit like Tevya.
Thinking of this conversation led me to the fixation of finding a music box that played "sunrise, sunset". My search found me at an ebay store that sells the song workings to music boxes for a very low sum. I ordered 4 of them from the catalog:
of course:
"Sunrise/set" and
"Edelweiss"
"Greensleeves"
"Speak Softly Love" (theme to the Godfather, which I used to have in music box form, but it broke.)
I'm real anxious to get them. I don't know if i'll actually try to construct some sort of music box, or just mount them somewhere inconspicuous so I can turn the keys and have a wall of music box music. Probably the latter. I wonder if you can buy a CD of music box music? I often want to listen to my wind-ups when I'm doing things in my bedroom, but it becomes a bother when I'm having to wind them up every 60 seconds or so.
Doing a paint by number this last weekend of a horses's head, staining wood plaques to make some sort of v. belated mother's day gift that I have no solid concept for.
Hey, if anybody in Seattle reads this, please come to Gallery 1412 (18th Ave and Union St) on Sunday, at 8 pm! I have been playing in my friend Zac's band, "Parenthetical Girls", along with a couple of other cool young adults. This Sunday is our first show, and we're opening for a band that I like really well called Young People. So, if you like that band you should come.

We just might do well.