Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

February 22, 2007 - 1:43

Growing up, we couldn't have cats for all the allergies in my family, my dad being the worst among a couple others. But I found out yesterday that he has been keeping a stray cat christened Top Cat.
Nobody knew about it until the day my nephew saw the stray hanging around, and tried to feed him a can of tuna fish. When my Dad witnessed this from across the yard, he shouted:
"Don't! That cat's already had 2 chicken breasts today."
This is very strange news to me.
Thinking about the double helping of chicken made me think about my Dad's philosophy on feeding babies. He is eager to school a baby feeder for pausing too long between bites.
"You've gotta give them big bites, in a steady stream. That's the way their systems take it in." I've seen him do this multiple times, and it's based on, I think, nothing. And also coming from the man who advises teeth brushing only every other day. I can think about my Dad for a long time during the day.
I have had an mild, yet oppressive, creeped out feeling for the past few days.

I think it's because I got out of my routine.