Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

November 15, 2007 - 2:55

I recognize in this new young man a work ethic similar to my own; almost compulsively dutiful, but begrudging. His shoes are always dusty.
On the chance occasion that somebody asks,(mostly online surveys), what my most embarrassing moment was, I'll say: "The time that I was reading aloud in 7th grade physical science and said "orgasm" instead of "organism"." But today I remembered something that was far more 'tifying.
It was 3rd grade, and my hair was worn in a high curly pony on my head. It was during PE class, that the boy whom I had a crush on (Brady McDaniel, candle held 3rd grade-5th grade) told me: "You've got all of this dandruff in your hair..." and gestured at the nape of my neck. I was so embarrassed that I adamantly denied, without even checking. But he insisted, saying in fact, that it was "moving".
So, I had lice. Which is a poor, sad secret to keep in just your own company, let alone to have it be discovered by the boy you love.
I had so successfully buried this horror, that only an almost exact reinaction of it could unearth it.

The new guy told me I had some dried blood drip down the nape of my neck (hair up in braids).