Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

December 04, 2007 - 8:45

Today the river looks like gravy at a rolling boil. Murky, fallen branches roiling around like turkey necks.
Last night I had a dream that I got married. This has never happened before.
The ceremony took place on the stage of the Nampa Civic Center, and it was dark except for these wonderful shoes I had...clear jelly shoes that lit up with blue lights when I walked, like the Body Glove tennies I had when I was little. I kept gazing at my feet, pumping my heels, and smiling. I had a bouquet of poppies and wooden spoons. This sounds fantastical, but I think stems practically from certain bridal shower games I've seen.
The man was blonde and non-descript, almost just existing as a kind, peripheral presence. We barely spoke.
But my sister was there in the audience, saw her dimly from the stage.
I slept at her house that night, and she made thin crepelike chocolate pancakes the next morning.

Getting married wasn't so bad.