Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

February 15, 2008 - 9:23

Aside from a letter written by my high school boyfriend (in which he quoted a fortune cookie), the only Valentine's I've ever received were from my family.
Keeping in tradition, I received (poorly) scanned handmade Valentine's from my nieces and nephew. They've given me many sad smiles.
Sophie's Valentine
You can't fake this kind of one off. Sophie's very Real, wild, and definitely my Valentine.
Lily's Valentine
But my heart belongs to Lillian. My feelings for Lily are too sappy to tell; but I will say that I believe we have a symbiotic relationship, incubated during her years 0-2 in which I was a constant doting presence. When I leave and Lily cries, she claims to not know why she's crying, and creates an apparently false explanation. I believe that she really doesn't understand why she's crying. And she's my Valentine.
Kodee's Valentine
I love the starkness and truth of Kodee's Valentine. "I wonder if I should tell Aunt Rach happy V-Day"... this is the revealed psyche of a 12 year old boy. What exactly is the implication of telling a girl "Happy Valentine's Day?" And since I'm his relation: "Is it gay to tell my lady aunt Happy Valentine's Day?" I now painfully revisit the tortured delicacies of St. Valentines Day, thanks to this- and despite his reticence, I claim Kodee as my Valentine. Forever.
Also- why does he think he's a hippi?
My unscanned Valentine's include a sack of Riesens (?), and a beautiful hand crayoned, heart shaped card from Elijah.

I am not completely unclaimed.