Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

February 29, 2008 - 10:19

In the last two weeks I've spent:
$366.90 on expenses (not inc. rent)
$40.94 on "Fun" (movie, cloth, etc.)
$158.77 on Food/Grocery
$66.42 on "SNACKS"
Conclusion: The snack run is definitely the pin prick in the bottom of my sand bag. To be fair, coffee drinks fall under this expense umbrella...but that's still more snacking than i've even got time for.
Lately, a lot of what I think about is:
-This stupid camisole I'm knitting. The neckline is what I'm really worked up about (experimental bow-work, that may or mayn't work), but until then I'm slowly working my way up to it in a tedious Bee stitch.
-The way in which I'll quit my job. To lie or not to lie.
-Touring,
1.maintaining nonchalance/positivity
2.attempt mechanical finesse & error free performance
3.wardrobe efficiency/versatility
-Family Trees
1. Why hasn't anybody named their band "Family Tree" yet? I checked Myspace: nothing save a UK band with Tom as their only Myspace friend.
2. Compiling virtual Family trees. You can insert your own family's pictures! I've joined Ancestry.com and kindo.com this week. Kindo is better.
3. Recently becoming aware of the Sparks lyric "Gonna hang myself from my family tree", which matches almost exactly a line from an old paper journal...which makes me feel clever for accidentally matching wits with a Mael.
4. Normal Rockwell's Family Tree:
Photobucket
I was transfixed by this painting when I was little. It inspired immense lust for the ability to paint realistically, with no greater goal than being able to supply myself a personalized version; but no actions were ever taken in this direction.
5. The visual possibilities of the format of the family tree are vast and suited to a wide variety of tastes. Why aren't more diagrams this unnecessarily ornate and thoughtful? I'd probably still remember the earthly elements if they'd been displayed as such:
Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

Photobucket

The Mormons goal is to trace their bloodline back to Adam and Eve. I'm still not sure why it's stressed so heavily, but I always found my father's genealogy studies one of the more engrossing aspects of the religion.
Anyways, I'm not sure what inspired this sort of overly informative post; but I think it had something to do with my friend Sarah asking me if I was on drugs while writing my previous entry, because it had no reason to it.

Chicks dig metaphors.