Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

March 30, 2010 - 6:51 AM

Anonymous young men, shirtless, bring her box, (which looks like a door), into the shelter of a sprawling outdoor tent. It's arrangement is not dissimilar to an old-fangled circus rink, but full of natural light and quite beautiful.
They begin to dig furiously, and I scream and sob at them to pause; as they seem to have no intention of opening the lid before the descent, which looks like a door, to let us look.
The kinder looking of the young men obliges me, and though I'm feet away, I see clearly the contrast of the speckles and blanched waxiness against the eyebrows, which have been darkened. I don't approach her, but look around frantically at our guests as if to say, "Doesn't she look beautiful. Still."
At that exact moment I see and hear her yawn, and though it was a dream I know from my waking ruined state that the most real bit of me believed she was alive, and I run to her.

I whisper that I knew she would wake up if they opened it for a third time.