Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

January 29, 2011 - 3:00

Watching never before seen footage of my little self, two things struck me:

One, it is a bit disorienting to see yourself as what you were: a very common toddler, when the first hand experience seemed so UNcommon. I still remember well the elaborate day/dreams I would have at that age, the strange fixations and fantasies, and the complex, romantic relationships I had with my surroundings and possessions. On the outside, I sounded and acted like a simple imp. Of course, I am filtering my memory through adult nostalgia and experience, but that is not enough to negate the fact that my inner world was very delicate and important. Really just a reminder to give all humans more credit than I think they deserve.
Two, really absorbing to observe my toddler body, and marvel at the function of secondary sex characteristics. Exactly what kind of biologic-magic hews form from that little lump over time? Of course, I know there are concise explanations, but I don't really want to remember the details. I'd rather just wonder.

And wax fantastically about the god's chisels and stretchin' machines.