Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

March 07, 2012 - 2:19

A new syntax fancy that struck me in the tub. I want to speak in this form, when applicable:
"Heavy is the head that is mine."
"Hungry is the body that is mine."
"Weary is the brain that is mine."
"Hurt is the heart that is mine."
But it would only push me even further away from being an effective communicator. Do I actually desire to be ESL?
Which begs the question of whether or not I like what I have to say. But I saw the words, they may as well have been written in neon.
And then there is the tub.
Historically, it really is such a haven for me. In retrospect, perhaps because it was the only time you were really alone. As a girl I would wrinkle, waiting for it to get cold and drive me out; but now, I become drowsy and impatient before the temperature can fully drop.
But at the time, I could easily spend an hour.
I used to dip my fingers gingerly in the tub water like it was a bucket of paint, dangle my hand and watch the water collect on my finger tip in an elegant tear before it dropped. In the moment that the dew clung I imagined that it was a long, feminine nail. It's really a beautiful looking memory.
A side note: as a girl the women I drew always had long nails and toe cleavage in pumps. A friend once bought me press on nails for my birthday, of course such garishness on a child my parent's wouldn't abide by. But after the initial use with the preformed glue pads, I would attempt to reapply them over and over again with rubber cement as my adhesive. (unsuccessful)

At the time I was very inspired by Dolly Parton's beauty.