Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

December 12, 2012 - 10:44

I rode my bike to the post office at 9 PM yesterday after telling a perilously invested customer that their jacket would be shipped out the next day.
I live in the paranoid fear of wronging an imbalanced consumer.
After I post the package and trot down the steps, I realize the air is nice and I stop in the middle of the side walk.
I seer into the foreground, I'm transfixed by a green light. This has been happening a lot lately. The traffic lights blur-beam straight into my retina and I just stop what I'm doing and leave town for a minute.
My minutes up and I settle my gaze on a drooping tree branch that acts like a marionette, dead, lively, controlled by god. I'm bored.
I have a thermos filled with coffee in my bike basket. It's leaking, and I know the coffee wants to be drunk, but it's 9 PM, too late. I don't want it to leak, but I also don't want it in my body. "But I paid for it", I actually said that.
So I drank it in shallow droughts and spit every sip into a bush.
I thought it might be funny, but I didn't laugh, instead I thought about how I hadn't really laughed for a while.

-