Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-26 - 11:54 a.m.

Brad invited me to the movies last night, to view 'Man on Fire'. I knew that there was a reason that I didn't want to see this movie, but turns out none of them were good. The way it was filmed reminded me much of Romeo and Juliet. It took place in Mexico, and it was chock full of the Catholic trappings that I have known and loved. Also like Romeo and Juliet, plenty of water imagery. There was a recurring scene where we would see Denzel Washington swimming underwater in a pool, and the hazy blood of past injuries is floating around him. Everytime this happened, Brad would say:

"FUCK. He is still bleeding from the gun shot!!"

"No. It is just imagery. You see how he is bleeding into Dakota Fanning?"

Every time he did this. He and I are worst movie mates. I am always yelping when fingers are being cut off and cauterized with cigarette lighters, he is always chortling when this happens. When I see a spurt of fountained blood I duck my head into my armpit, and he guffaws. When buildings are needlessly set on fire I ask 'why?' and he says 'RIGHT ON.' We chatted afterwards, I lauded the graininess and the color, he praised the authenticity of the blood and the mother's ass. Oh hell, how I love Romeo and Juliet. I must watch it now.

Bound by cousins blood and free movie tickets.