Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-07-09 - 10:35 a.m.

I woke up around 4 am, my left eye sutured with impurity. A gunk of some sort, that would so I might not even open my eye. It was incredible.

I was late to work for the first time this morning, and I realize now that I never want to be late again. With age, and without any conscious effort, I have obtained an improved work ethic, which is aces, because I never even meant to do it. A short overview of delinquence: I fell asleep at my desk once, when I was a young runner for Moore Smith Buxton and Turke, I took very long lunch breaks, and would act defensive when questioned about it. I was late nearly every day of my year at Hewlett Packard, and I called in sick countless times. Sick with headaches, I once lied about a spinal tap. I took almost every other Friday off for a self-imposed three day respite, driving to Moscow to call on my heart's looter, and, I also hung out in the cafeteria a lot. That was sort of an awesome job, in recollection. At the coffee shop I was consistently tardy, traded smoothies for pizza at the shop across from us, whored out fancy drinks to all of my friends, took out of the register extra dollars along with my rightful dollars in credit card tip, sometimes, I even closed the store early, always, I shoddily performed my cleaning and maintenance duties. And there are the times as a Nanny for those lovely children that I would doze while they watched the television peacefully. God save me.

A customer who flashed me his fireman's badge, just told me 'You work for a good company, you know!' and I suppose that is true, as far as companies go. It is one of those successful family owned rigs, and the people really are of an honest and hard-working ilk.

I heard the Dead Science play in a Tiki Lounge last night, which was peerless. What if the bass player was a sinister, bedraggled hunched-back, and the singer, on the side of his face that I can't see, had terrifying acid burns, burns that will never heal because his soul is so villainous? Oh, if only!

Dovetail Jig