Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

March 21, 2006 - 10:37

I just got out of a meeting, where I couldn't keep my attentions off the window washer. He was perched on seemingly only a bucket, suspended 18 stories in the air by a pulley. When he lowered himself to the level below mine, his cable jerked and trembled before it settled; and all I could think of was how it felt right before the violin string snapped on Sunday, just after it reached taut. I fliched, I hope not visibly, a couple of times.
I really wonder how much they pay a window washer to do their job. "For thrill-seekers and fresh immigrants only." This might be what they put in the wanted ad. Once, I had a violin string snap in my face while I was tuning it in my lap. I blinked just in time to catch the severed end between my eyelids, so it not only grazed the eye, but stabbed a bit as well.
I do have access to a violin right now, but it's a slight bugger that the way I need to hold a violin is in pretty volatile disagreement with my wrist's lingering malady. But this is how it was with the piano just after my cast was off, and my tinkering proved therapeutic. Fiddling! around on the violin should take my wrist to the next level of mobility. But the way that I'm playing sounds awful, and I can't blame it all on my wrist. I'm anxious to get better, maybe better than I was before.

Let it be known that I really love playing musical instruments.