Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-01-27 - 3:23 p.m.

this morning I woke up to the eerie sound of my father's singing voice through some distant pipe. He has a soothing beautiful voice, and the words were some old church hymn 'love one another'. I'd forgotten how lovely his singing voice was. It breaks and cracks and is gentle and mild, at the same time full.

Living at my parent's house, it's nice. I have been sleeping on the couch, because I haven't really wanted to unpack any of my stuff, as it will all be packed again, soon enough. In the basement I heard haunting orchestral music being played from the player in my parent's bedroom. The way this pipe is centered, I couldn't identify where the music was coming from. Everything travels through pipes in this house, and you stop whatever you're doing and listen.

spending time with Rachel last night was good. We are going to go on a short jaunt on the 28th next month, and it will be good for our friendship. We commiserated together about our road trip where everything bad that could have happened, did, but it was somehow blissfully lovely. We clung to the words of: "Awesome Life, No Bad Days." like crazy women, and emblazoned these words all over our bodies with black markers in fits. and oh yes, on her steering column! Worst/best road trip of our short lives.

Rachel is plagued with bodily ailments. Headaches, bone aches, dizziness, she complains that the air feels like a foreign substance to her sometimes, like she is breathing in chemicals. sometimes she can't breath at all! I worry for her, and I don't know how to help her. On top, she is very emotionally and mentally drained all of the time. She's depressed and doesn't know why. Little things make her think her life is ending in the worst of ways. I don't know how to help her, other than offer my friendship and all that entails, and even if she needed somebody to beat up on, I would offer my body if I knew it would help! I feel helpless, and I worry.

99 knit stitches