Photobucket

Hollow-Holler

contact me older entries newest entry

2004-05-24 - 9:39 a.m.

I have a soft spot for the hands that I transact with here at this job. The knarled old hands of carpenters and builders. Knotty old, yellow old fingernails. Perma-dirt in the callouses. Missing tips. Nice little builders.

I watched Troy with Jona and his mother last night. I like meeting my friend's family, so much. I liked to notice that they had the same mouth, and I feel a whole 'nother level of comfort with a person once i've met their kin.

Part of this movies very slight appeal, was the presence of one Orlando Bloom in the cast. It was nice because, Travis has always reminded me of Orlando Bloom who played Prince Paris, brother to Prince Hector, who was played by a man who looks just like Greg, Travis' real life brother. I like those McGary boys as Trojan royalty. Those slackers!

I fell so hard for the track, 'Henry Lee', after seeing the beautiful and lovely video manifestation courtesy of Garett's good taste. As a result I have spent the weekend swept up in the romanticism of murder, I can no help it. After purchasing the spendy, and nearly worthless to me single, I passed the park, and while it was very dark at 10 in the evening, I still pulled over for a good jaunt on the swingset in the secluded playground, the whole time humming and pondering my doom. I just figured that I would probably be murdered in the park, and I was pretty willing. I mean, I would have been swinging, in a little cove of trees, and I would have had Henry Lee playing in my head. It could have been alright. Misted rain on my corpse, ok? In retrospect, of course I disagree with my actions as a human being, and for the sake of my Grandmother who I hope is not reading this. But I see how swayed I can become by a romantic imagery. I'd probably join a cult if they played their cards right, and I am reminded of the strange and ghostly tale I once read of the teenagers who all listened to the same mixed tape and subsequently drove their cars off cliffs. It's like I am that friend who snapped out, just at the brink of their destruction.

Zac and Rebecca and I went to Heaven last night. Nickel arcade with very reasonable soda fountain prices complete with RC products, the frooties are fresh tasting. Rebecca and I have intentions of winning the whole Ocean Hunter game, and I think that we can do it, if we just keep our heads in the game. We all played the interactive bongos, which is a very satisfying read. I want to spend a lot of spare time there, from now on.

I am going home next weekend for a few days, and I am worried that I won't want to come back to Portland. Which I feel like a real jerk for thinking, because really, i'm a very lucky mover. I have had friends who let me stay with them and take baths in their baths, I have nice friends who hang out with me and make me not lonely at all, and I have a job that pays me what i'm worth. I like it here, but it turns out, i'm still just a baby. AND, I have scabies, so what's new, right?

A baby with scabies.